Monthly Archives: December 2018

Faculty Member Dr. Araneta, PHD, MPH was recently appointed to a six-year team on the NIH “Council of Councils”

Congratulations to Dr. Maria Rosario (Happy) Araneta, PhD, MPH, Professor of Epidemiology, who was recently appointed to a six-year term on the NIH “Council of Councils!” This interdisciplinary body is comprised of 27 members, selected from NIH Institutes and Centers (IC) Advisory Councils, representatives nominated by the Office of the Director program offices, and broad lay representation. The Council advises the NIH Director on matters related to the policies and activities of the Division of Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives (DPCPSI). The Council also acts as an external advisory panel to the IC Directors during the “concept approval” stage of the NIH Roadmap initiative review process.

The concept approval stage involves the consideration of a list of potential trans-NIH initiatives. The Council provides second-level review of: all grant and cooperative agreement applications assigned to the Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP), the Environmental influences on Child Health Outcomes (ECHO) program, the All of Us Research Program, and selected applications for Common Fund support. On occasion, special working groups of the Council are formed to examine and address critical scientific or policy issues of importance to DPCPSI and the NIH.


Photo caption: New Council of Council Members pictured: (back row from left) Michael Lairmore, Bruce Tromberg, Gary Koretzky; (front row from left) Jean Schaffer, Paul Kenny, DPCPSI Director and Council of Councils Chair, James Anderson, Maria Rosario Araneta, Rick Horwitz. Not pictured: Bruce Ovbiagele.